31 Beautiful Quotations from Mahatma Gandhi (Post No.3192)

gandhi-1

OCTOBER 2016 ‘GOOD THOUGHTS’ CALENDAR

 

Written by London swaminathan

Date: 26 September 2016

Time uploaded in London:13-25

Post No.3192

Pictures are taken from various sources; thanks.

Important days

Navaratri begins – Oct.1; Gandhi Jayanti-Oct.2; Sarasvati Puja- Oct.10; Vijaya dasami/Dasara- Oct.11; Deepavali-29/30;

Kanda Shashti fasting begins -Oct.31

 

Ekadasi-12, 26;Full moon-15;New moon-30; Auspicious day-28

 

gandhi2

October 1 Saturday

God has no religion.

 

October 2 Sunday

The greatness of humanity is not in being human, but in being humane

October 3 Monday

The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong

October 4 Tuesday

“I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet

October 5 Wednesday

Even if you are a minority of one, the truth is the truth.

 

October 6 Thursday

“Earth provides enough to satisfy every man’s needs, but not every man’s greed.”

October 7 Friday

“Love is the strongest force the world possesses.”

 

gandhi-4

October 8 Saturday

 “A man is but the product of his thoughts. What he thinks, he becomes.”

October 9 Sunday

One can measure the greatness and the moral progress of a nation by looking at how it treats its animals.

 

October 10 Monday

I worship it (COW) and I shall defend its worship against the whole world. (Young India, 1-1-1925, p. 8)

October 11 Tuesday

My religion teaches me that I should by personal conduct instil into the minds of those who might hold different views, the conviction that cow-killing is a sin and that, therefore, it ought to be abandoned.
(YI, 29-1-1925, p. 38)

October 12 Wednesday

I had practiced Hinduism from early childhood. My nurse had taught me to invoke Rama when I feared evil spirits. Later on I came in contact with Christians, Muslims and others, and after making a fair study of other religions, had stuck to Hinduism. I am as firm in my faith today as in my early childhood.

 

October 13 Thursday

I want you to bear in mind what Tulsidas has said:

“Good and bad, all men are the creation of god. The man of god picks up the good and discards the bad like the proverbial swan which is able to drink the milk and leave behind water, when a mixture of water and milk is placed before it.”

 

October 14 Friday

Hinduism is not an exclusive religion. In it there is room for the worship of all prophets in the world. It is not a missionary religion in the ordinary sense of the term. It has no doubt absorbed many tribes in its fold, but this absorption has been an evolutionary, imperceptible character. Hinduism tells everyone to worship god according to his own faith or dharma and so it lives at peace with all religions.

gandhi-3

October 15 Saturday

To believe in something, and not to live it, is dishonest.

 

October 16 Sunday

Have faith in humanity. Humanity is like an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the whole ocean doesn’t become dirty.

 

October 17 Monday

An ounce of practice is worth a thousand words.

 

October 18 Tuesday

Freedom is not worth having if it does not include the freedom to make mistakes.

 

October 19 Wednesday

If you want real peace in the world, start with children.

 

October 20 Thursday

An eye for an eye will only make the whole world blind.

 

October 21 Friday

You can chain me, you can torture me, you can even destroy this body, but you will never imprison my mind.

gandhi1-jpggold

October 22 Saturday

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.

October 23 Sunday

FOR ME Hinduism is all-sufficing. Every variety of belief finds protection under its ample folk. (SW, p329)

October 24 Monday

Faith is put to the test when the situation is most difficult.

 

October 25 Tuesday

In matters of conscience, the law of the majority has no place.

 

October 26 Wednesday

Religion is a matter of the heart. No physical inconvenience can warrant abandonment of one’s own religion.

 

October 27 Thursday

Ashram means a community of men of religion. I feel that an ashram was a necessity of life for me.

 

October 28 Friday

As long as you derive inner help and comfort from anything, keep it.

ganghi-india

October 29 Saturday

Prayer is the key of the morning and the bolt of the evening.

 

October 30 Sunday

Faith becomes lame, when it ventures into matters pertaining to reason!

 

October 31 Monday

Nonviolence is a weapon of the strong

gandhi-uk

–SUBHAM-

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: