30 IMPORTANT QUOTATIONS ON DHARMA

satymaeva jayate

Good Thoughts Calendar (September 2014)
Post No. 1257; Date: 28th August 2014
Compiled by London Swaminathan ©

Important Dates: September 6 Onam; 9 Mahalaya Paksham; 11 Bharati Day; 25 Navaratri begins; 30 Half Yearly accounts closing.
Auspicious Days: 4, 8, 11, 15. Full Moon day- 9, New Moon-23 (Amavasya). Ekadasi – 5, 19.

September 1 Monday
Ahimsaa paramo dharma: Bharat manjari
Non violence is the abode of righteousness.

September 2 Tuesday
Aatmanah pratikuulaani paresaam na samaacaret- Pancha Tantra 3-103
Do not unto others what you would not do to yourself.

September 3 Wednesday
Aanrsamsyam paro dharma: –Valmiki Ramayana 5-38-39
Compassion is the supreme doctrine.

September 4 Thursday
Aapadi praanaraksaa hi dharmasya prathamannkura: Bharat Manjari
Saving a life in jeopardy is the origin of morality.

September 5 Friday
Aartatraanaaya vah sastram na prahartum anaagasi – Shakuntalam 1-11
Your weapon is meant to protect the distressed, not punish the innocent.

sculpture dharma

September 6 Saturday
Istam dharmena yojayet –Panchatantra 4-74
Desire should be in consonance with dharma.

September 7 Sunday
Eka eva suhrud dharma: nidhane pyanusyaati ya: MS 8-17 Hitopadesa 1-66
Dharma is the only constant companion who comes along in death.

September 8 Monday
Esa loke sataam dharmo yaj jyesthavasago bhavet –Valmiki Ramayana 2-40-6
Being respectful to elders is the path of the noble.

September 9 Tuesday
Krte ca pratikartavyam esa dharma: sanatana:
Returning one good turn for another is an eternal doctrine.

September 10 Wednesday
Ghoramapi svam cared dharmam – sup
Though appalling one’s own duty ought to be performed.

Replica_of_Dharma_Chakra

September 11 Thursday
Jayasyaayatanam dharma: paapam varthma kshayasya ca rm 6-11-371
Dharma is the abode of victory; sin, the path of doom.

September 12 Friday
Tirthoparodho hi dharmavadaha: — kas 202-38
It is criminal to impede the flow of a river.

September 13 Saturday
Dharma eva plava: pumsaam samsaaramakaraakare — bkm
Righteousness is man’s singular ship across the ocean of transmigration.

September 14 Sunday
Yató dharma: tató jaya: Vidura Niti 7-9; Susasita Ratna Bhandaagaara 3-35
Where there is Dharma, there lies Victory.

September 15 Monday
Dharmamuulaa hi sampada: – Kathaa Sarit Saagaram
Prosperity is rooted in virtue.

dharma-chakra-5586472

September 16 Tuesday
Dharmaratnena yo hiina: sa hiino sarvavastusu – Vikrama carita 3-832
He who lacks the jewel of righteousness lacks everything.

September 17 Wednesday
Dharmasca arthasca kaamasca kaala karma samaahitaa: — Valmiki Ramayana 4-25-8
Religious merit, worldly prosperity, and sense gratification are accumulated gradually.

September 18 Thursday
Dharmasthita: ko marana adhbibhiiyaat –Jataka Mala
Where is the fear of death for one who is steadfast in dharma?

September 19 Friday
Dharmasya tattvam nihitam guhaayaam—— Mahabharata 3-117-313
The secrets of dharma are hidden in the heart’s cave.

September 20 Saturday
Dharmasya susuuksmo hi gatikrama: Bharat manjari 1-25-1114
The path of righteousness is subtle indeed !

dharmachakra 2

September 21 Sunday
Dharmena carataam satye naastyanabhyudaya: kvacit —-Katha Sarit Sagaram
He knows no failure who righteously treads the path of truth.

September 22 Monday
Dharmena hiinaa: pasubih samaanaa: — Hitopadesam 1-25
They are animals who lack dharma.

September 23 Tuesday
Dharmo raksati raksita: — Manu Smrti 8-15
If righteousness is upheld, it will protect us.

September 24 Wednesday
Dharmo vigrahavaan nrpa: Valmiki Ramayana 7-59-22
The king is the embodiment of dharma.

September 25 Thursday
Dharmo ha vai raksati dharmacaarinam – Jatakamala
The practitioners of dharma are protected by it.

dharma chakra1

September 26 Friday
Dharmo hi paramaa gati: — Valmiki Ramayana 7-3-10
Dharma alone is the ultimate goal

September 27 Saturday
Dharmo hi saanidhyam kurute sataam –Katha Sarit Sagaram
Dharma ensures its proximity with the noble.

September 28 Sunday
Vedókiló dharma muulam – Manu Smrti 2-6
The entire Vedas form the foundation of Dharma.

September 29 Monday
Na hi dharma adbhavét kincid duspraapam iti mé mati: – Valmiki Ramayana 7-60-9
This is my opinion: nothing is unattainable with Dharma.

September 30 Tuesday
Swadharmé nidhanam sréya: paradharmó bhayaavaha: -Bhagavad Gita 3-35
Better is death in one’s own duty; the duty of another is fraught with fear.

Quotations are taken from Suktisudha, Chinmaya International Foundation.
N.B. — Please read calendar posts of earlier months where there are at least 30 important quotations!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: