Six Seasons: Same for South & North Indians !


Research paper written by London Swaminathan
Post No.1186; Dated 21st July 2014.

India is one; There is no difference in the basic culture. Hindus have been following the same tradition from Kashmir to Kanyakumari from the Vedic days. They had the same division of six seasons in the north and the south of the vast country. This proves two things:

1.There is no Aryan – Dravidian division in the ancient Hindu culture. One culture was followed by the ancient Hindus in India.

2.Six seasons are found only in India; so the culture is not imported from Central Asia or Europe. In Western countries only four seasons were there; so there is no truth in Indo European stock/culture.

There is only one book in the world about Seasons. That was written by the greatest poet Kalidasa in Sanskrit. Kalidasa wrote ‘Rtu Samharam’. Another amazing thing about the seasons is the modern classification coincides with our six seasons!

Westerners divided the seasons into four: Spring, Summer, Autumn/Fall and Winter.
From the Vedic days we have divided the season in to six seasons:


1.Spring Season/Vasanta Rtu/ Ila Venil in Tamil/
Months Chitrai(Chaitra),Vaikasi (Vaishaka)/Mid March to Mid May

2.Summer/Greesma Rtu/Muthu Venil/
Months Ani (Jyeshta), Adi (Ashada)/Mid May to Mid July

3. Monsoon/Rainy/Varsha Rtu/Kar Kalam/
Months Avani (Shravana),Purattasi (Bhadrapada)/Mid July to Mid September

4.Autumn/Sharad Rtu/Kuthir Kalam/
Months Aippasi (Aswin), Karthikai (Kartika)/ Mid September to Mid November

5.Late Autumn/Hemanta/Mun Panikkalam/
Months Markazi (Margashirsha)Thai (Pausa)/ Mid November to Mid January

6.Winter/Shishira/Pin Panikkalam/
Months Masi (Magh),Panguni (Phalguna)/ Mid January to Mid March

6 season

Modern Classification: Pre Vernal, Vernal, Estival, Serotinal, Autumnal, Hibernal
Western Classification: Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter.

Rtu in the Rig Veda

Rtu /season is mentioned in the Rig Veda. Though seasons are mentioned in it Atharvaveda (6-55-2) and several Samhitas mention “Six Seasons”.

Valmiki in his Ramayana described Hemanta Rtu in Aranya kanda, Vasanta Rtu and Varsha rtu in Kishkinda Kanda.

Manu mentioned seasons in the verses: 1-30, 3-217, 4-26, 9-36 and 3-273.
Kalidasa in his famous book on seasons Rtu Samharam (The Gathering of the Seasons) begins with summer season. It has got six sections, one each for a season. It has 144 verses.

According to Taittiriya Samhita Vasanta Rtu is the first one. Krishna also says that he is Vasanta rtu among the seasons (Bhagavd Gita 10–35).

But Kalidasa began his book with the summer season so that he could finish it with the spring season. His description of nature is superb in this book. Scholars like Aurobindo had dismissed the doubts about the authorship of this work. Aurobindo had devoted half of his book for Rtusamharam in his book on Kalidasa. He said that we can see his hand in all the similes used in this work.

Tamils have been using the same division from the Sangam period. At the same time we see four divisions of seasons in Rome. In Greece we see a different system. This disproved the Aryan – Dravidian racist theory. Tamils saw eye to eye with their counterparts in North India. Oldest Tamil book Tolkappiam referred to six seasons in the Akattinai Iyal of Porul Adikaram.

Long Live United India!

Contact swami _ 48 @