More Rigvedic Quotations (Post No.9907)

WRITTEN BY LONDON SWAMINATHAN

Post No. 9907

Date uploaded in London –29 JULY   2021           

Contact – swami_48@yahoo.com

Pictures are taken from various sources for spreading knowledge.

this is a non- commercial blog. Thanks for your great pictures.

tamilandvedas.com, swamiindology.blogspot.com

August 2021 ‘Good Thoughts’ Calendar

FESTIVAL DAYS IN AUGUST 3- ADIP PERUKKU (in Tamil Nadu), 8- Adi Amaavasai, 11- Adi Pooram, 15- Indian Independence Day, Aurobindo Birth Day, 20-Mohuram, 21-Varalaakshmi Vratam, 21 Onam, 22- Yajur Upakarma, Raksha Bandhan, 23- Gayathri Japam,30- Krishna Jayanthi

Amavasai / new moon day – 8; Purnima/ Full moon day- 22,

Ekadasi Fasting Days-4, 18

Auspicious Day s for Weddings etc- 20, 26

August 1 Sunday

To gain your mercy, Varuna,with hymns we bind your heart, as a charioteer binds his horse ( to the chariot) 1-25-3

xxx

August 2 Monday

Never do they fail the ever faithful worshipper 1-25-6

xxx

August 3 Tuesday

O Agni, you are like a Father to his son, Kinsman for kinsman and Friend to a good friend 1-26-3

xxx

August 4 Wednesday

Release us from the upper bond, , untie the bond between, and loose the bonds below. 1-25-21

Xxx

August 5 Thursday

Him, whosoever he may be, no man may vanquish, mighty one.

Nay, very glorious power is his 1-27-8

xxx

August 6 Friday

Agni, you save even one ,who walks in evil way 1-31-6

xxx

August 7 Saturday

Agni, you are our Providence, you are our father , we are your

brothers,and you are our spring of life 1-31-10

xxx

August 8 Sunday

Will not the Indestructible endow us with perfect knowledge of this wealth, of cattle? 1-33-1

Cattle does not mean cows and bulls. Like Tamil saint Tirumular it means the five senses.

Xxx

August 9 Monday

I fly to him invisible Wealth giver like a falcon flies to his cherished eyrie 1-32-2

Xxx

August 10 Tuesday

O Asvins, thrice bring to us abundant wealth,; thrice in the Gods assembly, thrice assist our thoughts

Thrice grant us prosperity, thrice grant us fame, for the Sun’s daughter has mounted your three wheeled car 1-34-5

xxx

August 11 Wednesday

Thrice,Asvins, grant to us heavenly medicines, thrice those of earth, and thrice that the waters hold 1-34-6

xxx

August 12 Thursday

His chariot decked with Pearl, of various colours,lofty,with golden pole, the God has mounted

The many rayed one, the holy Savita, bound, bearing power and might, for darksome regions 1-35-4

xxxx

August 13 Friday

Three heavens are there, two Savita’s adjacent, in Yama’ world one, the home of heroes

As on a lynch pin, firm, rest things immortal; he who has known it let him declare it here 1-35-6

xxx

August 14 Saturday

Manu has stabilised you a light, Agni, for all the race of men 1-36-19

Xxxx

August 15 Sunday

Stand up erect to lend us aid, stand up like Savita,the God 1-36-13

Xxx

August 16 Monday

Smite down as with a club, you who has fire for teeth, smite the wicked, right and left. Let not the man who plots against us in the night, nor any foe prevail over us 1-36-16

Xxx

August 17 Tuesday

O, Maruts, before your fury, the earth trembles like a king who is weakened by age 1-37-8

xxx

August 18 Wednesday

Come quickly in swift horses, for you have worshippers among Kanva’s sons.

May you rejoice among them well 1-37-14

Xxx

August 19 Thursday

What now? When will you take us by both the hands as a dear father his son?

Gods, sacred grass is cut and spread for you 1-38-1

Xxx

August 20 Friday

Never were your praiser loathed like a wild beast in pasture land.

Nor should he go on Yama’s path 1-38-5

xxx

August 21 Saturday

O Maruts , at your voice’s at this earthly habitation shakes;

And each man reels who dwells there in 1-38-10

xxxx

August 22 Sunday

You have yoked the spotted deer to your chariot; a red deer, as a leader, draws.

Even the earth herself listened to you as you came near, and men were sorely terrified 1-39-6

xxx

August 23 Monday

O, Son of Strength, each man calls you for aid when spoil of battle waits for him.

O Maruts, may this man who loves you well obtain wealth of good horses and hero might ,may Suntra the goddess come 1-40-2

xxxx

August 24 Tuesday

May Brahmanaspati draw nigh, may Suntra the goddess, come to this rite which gives the god the five-fold gift the Hero, Lover of Mankind .1-40-3

xxx

August 25 Wednesday

Let him not love to speak ill words; but fear the One, who holds all four within his hand until they fall

Tread with your foot and trample out the fire brand of the wicked one, the double tongued, whoever he be 1-42-4

xxx

August 26 Thursday

Lead us to meadows rich in grass; send on our way no early heat.

O Pusan, you find power for this 1-42-8

xxx

August 27 Friday

What shall we sing to Rudra, strong, most bounteous, excellently wise,

That shall be dearest to his heart?1-43-1

Xxx

August 28 Saturday

O, Soma, you set upon us the glory of a hundred men.

The great renown of mighty chiefs 1-43-7

xxx

August 29 Sunday

Agni, Him noblest and most youthful, richly worshipped guest, dear to the men who offer gifts. Him, Jatavedas, I beseech at dawn that he may bring gods to us 1-44-4

xxx

August 30 Monday

Asvins, Sons of the Sea, mighty to save discoverer s of riches, you Gods with deep thought who find out wealth 1-46-2

xxx

August 31 Tuesday

Come in the ship of these our hymns to bear you to the hither shore:

O Asvins, harness the car 1-46-7

The heavens wide vessel is your own; on the floods shore your chariot waits. Drops , with the hymn, have been prepared 1-46-8

–subham–

tags- August 2021, Calendar, Rig Vedic, Quotations

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: