Post No.7482

Date uploaded in London – 22 January 2020

Contact –

Pictures are taken from various sources for spreading knowledge; this is a non- commercial blog.

16 Names of lord Ganesh

Sumukan – God with auspicious face

Eka dantan- with one tusk

Kapila- of dark/grey colouR

Gajakarnaka- with elephantine ears

Lambodara- with a big tummy

Vikata- short and smiling; giving pleasure to all

Vignaraja- destructor of evil/difficulties

Vinayaka- Supreme; no one above him

Dhumaketur-  light emitting; bright

Ganadyaksha – leader of the Yaksha Devas

palachandra – one who has crescent moon

Gajananah- with  elephant face

Vakratunda- with curved trunk

Heramba- blessing generously

Surpakarnah – with big ears

Skandapurvajah- one before Lord Skanda,


Om Sumukaaya namaha

Om Ekadhanthaaya namaha

Om Kapilaaya namaha

Om Gaja Karnakaaya namaha

Om Lambodharaaya namaha

Om Vikataaya namaha

Om Vignarajaya  namaha

Om Vinayakaaya namaha,

Om Dhoomakethave namaha

Om Ganadhyakshaaya namaha

Om Palachandraaya namaha

Om Gajananaaya namaha

Om Vakrathundaaya namaha

Om Herambaaya namaha

Om Soorpakarnaaya namaha

Om Skandapoorvajaya namaha

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 16%2Bganapathy%2Bnames.jpg



In Mantra Yoga there are 16 steps of worship of the image

or symbol of the deity and meditation on a particular aspect of the deity which one wants to propitiate. The sixteen steps (Sodasopacara in Sanskrit) of worship are:,

1.Avahana: Invoking God

2. Asana: Welcoming God to take his seat; esoterically, it is the offering of one’s heart as the throne or seat

3. Padya: Washing the feet of the symbol. Water is offered at the feet of God

4. Argya: Offering water to the hands of God

5. Acamana: offering pure water for sipping

6. Snana: Ceremonial bathing with milk, sugar, honey and water

7. Vastra: Offering of new and beautiful clothes and wrapping them around the image. This means donning oneself with divine wisdom and living in the world untainted by passion.

8.Upavita: Offering of sacred thread, which means to be filled with pure thoughts.

9. Vilepana: Besmearing the body of God with musk, red powder and sandal paste

10. Puspa: Offering flowers, which means offering our heart

11. Dhupa: Burning of incense, which is really the burning of sins by the fire of wisdom

12. Dipa: Waving the wick light before the image

13. Naivedya: Offering of food which is specially prepared for God. We also offer Tambula (betel leaf and betel nut), Jala (water) and Madhuparka (honey/milk or fruits),

14. Pradaksina- Namaskara:Perambulation and Salutation

15. Mantra Pushpa: Offering flowers and yellow rice for the welfare of the community and world peace

16. Sayya: Offering bed to God to rest.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: