November 2015 Good Thoughts Calendar

saint7

Compiled by London swaminathan

Date: 29 October 2015

Post No: 2284

Time uploaded in London :– 19-45

(Thanks for the pictures) 

WE ARE GIVING 30 BEAUTIFUL QUOTATIONS FROM  Suktisudha, Chinmya International Foundation Publication. These quotations  are on the qualities of Good persons.

Every month Quotations from Hindu sources are given in the Good Thoughts Calendar.

Important Days: (Two Important Festivals: Deepavali and Kartika Deepam)

NOVEMBER 10 DEEPAVALI (IN TAMIL NADU),

11 DIWALI (IN NORTH INDIA) ;

12- Skanda Sashti Fasting begins, 14- Children’s Day in India; 17-Skanda sashti & Sura Samharam, also First of Kartika Month-Ayyappa devotees fasting starts, 25- Kartikai Deepam at Tiruvannamalai Temple, 26- Pancharatra Deepam.

EKADASI  -November 7, 22

AMAVASAI/NEW MOON- November 11

PURNIMA /FULL MOON- 25 (Krittika Full Moon Day)

AUSPICIOUS DAYS:  November 2, 8, 13, 15,18, 22, 27, 29, 30

435-Swami-Rama-Tirtha

November 1 Sunday

Aajnaa caranamevaahuh mukhyamaaradhanam sataam YV(Yogavasishta) 6-23-4

Following the instructions of the noble is the best way to adore them.

November 2 Monday

Aatmalajjayaiva satpurusaa naacaaravelaam langhayanti JM (Jatakamala)

Noble men do not cross the boundaries of good conduct due to the sense of shame.

November 3 Tuesday

Adau cite tatah kaaye sataam sampadyate jaraa PT (Pancha tantra) 1-167

In the case of the noble,old age sets in the mind and then in the body.

November 4 Wednesday

Araksyo raksyate cauro pupakaariiti sajjanaih KSS (Katha Sarit Sagar)

Even an undeserving thief will be protected by the good, like a kindred soul.

November 5 Thursday

Astasamayepi sataamucitam khaluuccatarameva pad am SV (Sisupalavadha) 9.5

The noble remain on the high pedestal even at the time of death.

saint1

November 6 Friday

Aapatsvapi na siidanti sataam satparikrayaah kriyaah BM (Bharatamanjari)1-12-455

The good deeds of the noble do not beat a retreat during hardships

November 7 Saturday

Aapannnarti prasamanaphalaa sampado hyuttamaanaam MES (Megasandesa) 1-53

The wealth of the great is meant to dispel the distress of the afflicted

November 8 Sunday

Asthire jiivite hyaasthaa Kaza dhanesu manasvinah KSS

When life itself is fickle, what regard the noble will the noble repose in wealth?

November 9 Monday

Upakaaraparah svabhaavatah satatam sarvajanasya sajjanah SV 16-22

It is inborn in noble people to help all always.

November 10 Tuesday

Upacaritavyaah santo yadyapi kathayanti naikamupadesam KR (kahavatratnakar)

The saints deserve to be served though a single instruction may not escape their lips.

saint5

November 11 Wednesday

Kadaapi satpurusaa ssokapaatraatmaano na bhavAnti AS (Abijnana Sakuntala)6

Never do the noble give way to despondency.

November 12 Thursday

Karunaardraa hi sarvajanasya santokaranabaandhavah – KS (Kumarasambhava ) 12-34-20

Compassionate saints are the selfless friends of all beings.

November 13 Friday

Kartavyam hi sataam vacah KSS

Adhere to the words of the noble.

November 14 Saturday

Gunameva vakti sadhur dosamasaadhuh prakasaayati SRB (Subasita ratna Bhandakara)2-117

The noble extols virtues, the ignoble highlight vices alone.

November 15 Sunday

Gunaadhyasya satah pumsah stutau lajjaiva bhuusanam

Embarrassment is the ornament of the noble when they are eulogised

November 16 Monday

Gunaadhyo Aadhya ucyate BP (Bhagavatapurana) 11-19-43

The virtuous are verily venerable.

saint4

November 17 Tuesday

Gunaanaameva daurgunyam sajjano yairvisiidati

It is the merits that are faulted when the virtuous are distressed.

November 18 Wednesday

Channaa bhavAnti bhuvi satpurusaah kathanchit AM(Avimaraka)1-6

Good men somehow remain obscured in this world

November 19 Thursday

Disatyapaayam how sataamatikramah KA (Kiratarjuniya) 14-9

Disregarding the noble portends danger.

November 20 Friday

Prasaadasaumyaani sataam suhrjjane pat anti caksuumsi na daarunaah AS 6-29

The good reserve only soft affectionate looks for their friends, and not lethal arrows.

November 21 Saturday

Dvisataamapi maanasaanyaavarjayanti sadvrttaanuvartinah JM

Those who perform good deeds conquer even the minds of their opponents.

saint6

November 22 Sunday

Na katthanaatsatpurusaa bhavanti VR (Valmiki Ramayana) 6-71-58

Mere bragging does not make one noble.

November 23 Monday

Na kalyanaasayaah paapaprataaranaamanudhiiyante JM

The virtuous never indulge in sin.

November 24 Tuesday

Nirgunesvapi satvesu dayaam kurvanti saadhavah HU (Hitopadesa)  1-61

The noble are merciful even to those worthless ones.

November 25 Wednesday

Pranaamaantah sataam kopah SRB 3-190

The ire of the noble abates by surrender.

saint9

November 26 Thursday

Margamaaryam prapannasya naanumanyeta kah puma an VR 2-115-6

Who will not honour the man who treads the noble path?

November 27 Friday

Raksanti santah p ratios namartam

The good safeguard the wealth earned.

November 28 Saturday

Ripumapyupakaarena vasikurvanti saadhavah RM (Ramayana manjari)5-3-79

The noble win over their foes by helping them.

November 29 Sunday

Vaagekaa vaagminah satah SV 2-109

The eloquent wise speak but one word

November 30 Monday

Prahvesvanirbandharuso hi santah RV (Raghuvamsa)16-80

The noble surely have no lasting ire towards the humble.

saint2