31 Indian Quotations on Mind!

habits-logo

Calendar of Golden Sayings, January 2015

Important Days:  Ekathasi Jan.1 (Vaikunda Ekathasi), 16, 30; Amavasya 20, Pournami- Jan.4

Festivals: Arudra Darsana 5; Bogi Festival 14; Pongal/Makara Sankaranti 15; Republic Day of India 26; Ratha saptami 26; Bhishmashtami 27.

 

Compiled by London Swaminathan

Post No.1523; Dated  27th December 2014.

31 Quotations on MIND (Manah) from Sanskrit and Tamil Literature

January 1 Thursday

If the intention is pure, everything is excellent — Kahaavatratnaakar, page 42

Ante varam cétsakalam varishtham

January 2 Friday

Difficult indeed to fathom the mind of another all at once — Valmiki Ramayana 6-17-60

Asakyam sahasaa bhaavó bóddhum parasya vai

January 3 Saturday

A still heart foretells impending misery or happiness —Malavikagnimitra-5 -p 161

Aagaami sukham duhkham vaa hrdayasamavasthaa kathayati

January 4 Sunday

Whose mind will be at ease after wilfully committing a heinous crime – Kathasaritsagara

Kasyaasvasiti cétó hi vihitasvairasaahasam

human_brain

January 5 Monday

People who have done something wrong  are always disturbed – Tamil Proverb

Kutramulla Nenjé Kurukurukkum

January 6 Tuesday

The eye is the Mirror of Mind – Sanskrit Proverb

Cakshurhi manóbhaavamaavis karóti

Face is the Index of the Mind (English Proverb)

January 7 Wednesday

Alas! The minds of beings are fickle – Valmiki Ramayana 2-4-20

Calaa hi praaninaam matih

January 8 Thursday

The lotus stem high according to water depth; a man’s merit is the measure of his mental strength – Tirukkural couplet 595

January 9 Friday

All thought should be the thought of rising high though it fails; it is nature of success  — Tirukkural couplet 596

January 10 Saturday

Rare are those with insight into hearts (of others) – Kahaavatratnaakar  p.126

Cittanjaa durlabhaa lóké

January 11 Sunday

Indeed the mind itself is the divine eye Brhat Katha Manjari

Divyam hi nayanam manah

January 12 Monday

It is impossible even for the great to be continuously focussed Rajatarangini 8-234

Na citta vrttéraikagryam mahataamapi sarvadaa

January 13 Tuesday

A wounded heart seldom heals — Dhurtanartaka

Na róhati pariksatam hrdayam

January 14 Wednesday

The mind is not cleansed by water

Na vaarinaa sudhyati caantaraatmaa – Sanskrit saying

mind

January 15 Thursday

“There is fuller’s earth for fulling clothes

And with ashes hides are cured

And gems are cut with diamond files

But to scour the mind there is naught – Tamil Poet Bharati

January 16 Friday

Though wounded with arrows, the elephant stands firm in his greatness; he who has spirit never loses heart when he fails — Tirukkural couplet 597

January 17 Saturday

Strong willed mental courage is manliness. Without it man is but wood (tree) in human form  — Tirukkural couplet 600

January 18 Sunday

A brave heart, Sweet speech, Good thoughts

Ripe fruit, Quick dividends, Dreams fulfilled

Wealth and happiness, and fame on earth

Om, Om, Om, Om– Tamil Poet Bharati

January 19 Monday

For humans, their own mind is the sacred authority in all actions – Bharatmanjari

Pramaanam hi manóvrttisarva kaaryésu dehinaam

January 20 Tuesday

If a man should utter a lie consciously, his own mind would torture him for the lie uttered – Tirukkural couplet 293

January 21 Wednesday

One who is true in thought and word is greater than even than those who perform penance (Thapas) and do charity  — Tirukkural couplet 295

January 22 Thursday

The human mind has a tenedency to do what is forfidden —  Kathasaritsagara

Praayó vaaritavaamaa hi pravrtti manasó nrnaam

January 23 Friday

Mind itself is the cause of of man’s bondage as well as liberation – Canakyaniti 2-11

Mana éva manushyaanaam kaaranam bandhamókasayóh

January 24 Saturday

The actions of the mind heed not the dictates of one’s will – Avimaraka

Manasca taavadamsmadichchayaa na pravartate

1-piece-of-mind

January 25 Sunday

Mind! Thy name is desire – Brhat Katha Manjari

Manasah svabhaavó hyabhitlaasitaa

January 26 Monday

Beauty strikes the pure at heart – Hanuman Nataka 14-s53

Manasi svahché ramyaanaam ramaniiyataa

January  27 Tuesday

A burn caused by fire may heal; but a scar caused by a fiery tongue will never heal — Tirukkural couplet 129

January 28 Wednesday

Mind intuits the association of even past lives! – Raghuvamsa 7-15

Manó hi janmaantara sangatijinam

January 29 Thursday

The ways of the mind are indeed strange –Kiratarjuniya 1-37

Vicitra rúpaah khalu  cittavrrttayah

January 30 Friday

When the mind turns pure, the world appears pure – Kahavatratnakar p.172

Svaanté púté jagatpútam

January 31 Saturday

Right judgements originate in sound minds — Subhasitaratnakhandamanjusa p 21

Svasthé cite budhdhayah sambhavanti

Sanskrit quotations are taken from  Suktisudha, Chinmaya International Foundation

swami_48@yahoo.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: