‘The universe is a cobweb; minds are spiders’- Vivekananda (Post No.6212)

 April 2019 ‘Good Thoughts’ Calendar 


Written by London swaminathan 


swami_48@yahoo.com


Date: 19 March 2019


GMT Time uploaded in London – 19-39


Post No. 6212

Pictures shown here are taken from various sources including google, Wikipedia, Facebook friends and newspapers. This is a non- commercial blog. ((posted by swamiindology.blogspot.com AND tamilandvedas.com))



I have chosen Swami Vivekananda’s 30 quotations for this months calendar from Sri Ramakrishna mutt publications. This covers his quotes on World, Worship and Yoga

Holy days and Holidays

April 6-Ugadhi; 13-Sri Rama Navami; 14-Tamil and many other communities’ New Year;17- Mahavir Jayanthi ; 19-Chitta Purnima;
Good Friday; 21-Easter Sunday; 22-Easter Monday

Full moon day- April 19;New moon day- 4;Ekadasi Fasting Days- 1,15, 30.
Subha Muhurtham/ Auspicious Days -April-1, 10, 12, 17, 18, 22, 26, 29

April 1 Monday

Worship
The highest worship is that of the man who loves god for God’s sake;Vol 1-440
April 2 Tuesday
Worship is feeling the holiness of god; Vol. 2-478
April 3 Wednesday
External worship is only a symbol of internal worship ; but internal worship and purity are the real things 3-141
April 4 Thursday

This is the gist of all worship- to be pure and to do good to others 3-141
April 5 Friday

He who sees Shiva in the poor, in the weak, in the diseased, really worships shiva; and if he sees Shiva only in the image , his worship is but preliminary 3-142
April 6 Saturday

Every worship consists of prayer in the highest form 4-110

April 7 Sunday
Let the Vedas , the Koran ,the Puranas, and all scriptural lumber rest now for some time- let there be worship of the visible god of love and compassion in the country 6-410


April 8 Monday
We must worship the beautiful for beauty’s sake, not for the hope of reward 4-191


April 9 Tuesday
Yoga
Non attachment is the basis of all the Yogas 1-101

April 10 Wednesday
Freedom of the soul is the goal of all Yogas 1-55


April 11 Thursday
The aphorisms of Patanjali are the highest authority on Raja yoga, and form its textbook 1-122

April 12 Friday

The whole theory of Yoga is to go beyond the mind 6-128

April 13 Saturday
Yoga means yoke, to join, that is to join the soul of man with the Supreme soul or god.


April 14 Sunday 

Yogi
A Yogi must avoid two extremes of luxury and austerity 1-136
The strong, the well knit, the young, the healthy, the daring alone are fit to be yogis 1-264

April 15Monday
World
The whole world is full of the Lord 2-146

April 16 Tuesday

All the world is my country, the whole universe is mine, because I have clothed myself with it as my body 2-283

April 17 Wednesday

The world is nothing. Beyond this world is something which is very real 2-144

April 18Thursday

We see the world as we are 2-87

April 19 Friday
Understand what this world is, so that it may not hurt you 2-312

April 20 Saturday
The world is just a playground, and we are here having good fun, having a game 3-94

April 21 Sunday 

We must die, that is certain; let us then for a good cause 3-446


April 22 Monday
The world is a means to an end, and not an end itself.4-8

April 23 Tuesday

Worlds must disappear in the soul like drops in the ocean 4-240.


April 24 Wednesday
The earth is higher than all heavens; this is the greatest school in the universe.5-94


April 25 Thursday
The progress of the world means more enjoyment more misery too.6-380

April 26 Friday
The world is not for cowards 6-83


April 27 Saturday
It is not creation but manifestation 7-424

The universe is a cobweb; minds are spiders 8-225


April 28 Sunday
The whole world is full of god and not of sin 8-219


April 29 Monday
This world will always be a mixture of good and evil, of happiness and misery; this will ever go up and come down; dissolution and resolution is the inevitable law. 8-341


April 30 Tuesday 
Jagat means that which is moving 6-110

And some more quotes:-

The world doesn’t exist outside. It is all a mental projection 6-487

The whole universe is composed of subtle vibrations 1-151

The whole universe is a play of unity in in variety, and of variety in unity.1-433
This whole universe is only one speck of the Infinite being 1-96


The whole universe is imagination, but one set of imaginations will cure another set 5-266

Everything must be sacrificed, if necessary, for that one sentiment, universality 6-285

Everything must complete the circle, and come back to its source 2-231

This world is too full of blustering talk. We want a little more earnest work, and less talk-2-380

–subham–



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: