30 Sumerian Proverbs that reflect Hindu Views! (Post No.7159)

WRITTEN  by  London Swaminathan

swami_48@yahoo.com

Date: 31 OCTOBER 2019

Time  in London – 8-04 am

Post No. 7159

Pictures are taken from various sources; beware of copyright rules; don’t use them without permission; this is a non- commercial, educational blog; posted in swamiindology.blogspot.com and tamilandvedas.com simultaneously. Average hits per day for both the blogs 12,000.

NOVEMBER 2019 ‘GOOD THOUGHTS’ CALENDAR

Festival days:- November 2- Sura Samharam in Skanda/ Kartikeya Temples; 9 Tulsi Vivah; 12 Guru Nanak Jayanti & Annabishekam (Kartik Purnima in North India; in Tamil Nadu it is on 10th December) ; 16 Gopi Ashtami;18- Sangabishekam in Shiva Temples (Bathing Shiva with holy water from Conch shells); 24 Guru Tej Bahadur martyrdom day.

Muhurta/ auspicious days-  November 1,3, 10, 15, 22, 24

New moon/ Amavasyai – 26.

Full moon/ Purnima day- 12

Hindu Fasting /Ekadasi Days-  8 and 22/23

I have chosen 30 Sumerian Proverbs which are similar to Indian Proverbs in Tamil and Sanskrit. Great men think alike!

November 1 Friday

Dharma:- Who can compete with righteousness It creates life

November 2 Saturday

Hindu Yudhdha Dharma- You should not cut the throat of that which has already had its throat cut.

Suura Samharam- Lord Skanda Kills Demon Suura
Soora Samharam

November 3 Sunday

Hindu Wedding Mantras- Marrying is human. Having children is divine

November 4 Monday

Arajaka in Valmiki Ramayana- In a city that has no watch dogs,
the fox is the overseer.

November 5 Tuesday

Who possesses much silver may be happy;
who possesses much barley may be glad;
but he who has nothing at all may sleep.

November 6 Wednesday

Writing is the mother of eloquence and the father of artists.

November 7 Thursday

Flatter a young man, he give you anything;
Throw a scrap to a dog, he’ll wag his tail.

November 8 Friday

Mata Pita Guru Deivam- Pay heed to the word of your mother as though it were the word of a god.

November 9 Saturday

A sweet word is everybody’s friend.

Tulsi Puja

November 10 Sunday

For a man’s pleasure there is marriage;
on thinking it over, there is divorce.

November 11 Monday

Conceiving is nice; pregnancy is irksome.

November 12 Tuesday

The wife is a man’s future;
the son is a man’s refuge;
the daughter is a man’s salvation;
the daughter-in-law is a man’s devil.

November 13 Wednesday

Less Luggage, More Happiness-Who builds like a lord, lives like a slave.
Who builds like a slave, lives like a lord.

November 14 Thursday

Vidura Neeti and Tirukkural – Do not return evil to your adversary; maintain justice for your enemy, do good things, be kind all your days. What you say in haste you may regret later.

November 15 Friday

Making loans is as [easy] as making love, but repaying them is as hard as bearing a child.

November 16 Saturday

Hindu View- Go up to the ancient ruin heaps and walk around; look at the skulls of the lowly and the great. Which belongs to someone who did evil and which to someone who did good?

November 17 Sunday

Fear of ‘Papa’/ Sin- Commit no crime, and fear [of your god] will not consume you.

November 18 Monday

Karma Theory- Has she become pregnant without intercourse? Has she become fat without eating?

November  19 Tuesday

Kalidas Advice – Bride, [as] you treat your mother-in-law, so will women [later] treat you.

November 20 Wednesday

Against Drinking- If the beer mash is sour, how can the beer be sweet?

November 21 Thursday

Anityam – The gods alone live forever under the divine sun; but as for mankind, their days are numbered, all their activities will be nothing but wind.

November 22 Friday

Be Perfect- If a singer knows only one song but makes the sound pleasant, he is indeed a singer!

November 23 Saturday

He who knows how to move around becomes strong.

November 24 Sunday

You can have a lord, you can have a king, but the man to fear is the tax collector!

November 25 Monday

Don’t be Aggressive- If you take the field of an enemy,
the enemy will come and take your field.

November 26 Tuesday

He who possesses many things is constantly on guard.

November 27 Wednesday

Be careful about your Speech-A heart never created hatred; speech created hatred.

November 28 Thursday

Family comes First- He who does not support a wife, he who does not support a child, has no cause for celebration.

November 29 Friday

Vidhi – Fate is a dog, well able to bite.

November 30 Saturday

Be Perfect- If a scribe knows only a single line but his handwriting is good, he is indeed a scribe!

Sumerian Proverbs are similar to Hindu Proverbs.

–subham–

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: